Film Recap: Moulin Rouge

13 Mar

This weekend has been very fun and creative for me! I was able to go out to exercise (run, bike) and I boosted my system with a lot of endorphines and Vitamin D! So yay!!! Also, I  cooked a bit, and maybe will make a recipe post in the nearest future. As I am a lover of musicals, I decided to make a Film Recap of an amazing musical, Moulin Rouge. It is one of the best musicals to go on the big screen and the leading actors, Nicole Kidman and Ewan McGregor, have amazing voices. And did I mention that the direction is so fun and full of red colors?

The story is about a young English writer-poet named Christian who goes to Paris, to write about life, adventure and most of all love. There he meets the beautiful Satine who dances at the Moulin Rouge.

This film recap has a few lyrics added to the caps. Hope you like this small detail!

There was a boy
A very strange, enchanted boy

They say he wandered very far, very far
Over land and sea

«The greatest thing  you’ll even learn
Is just to love and be loved
In return.»

Christian writes about his little love story in Paris that took place at the legendary Moulin Rouge.

Christian, came to Montmarte to live the bohemian lifestyle of this Paris district. Young and still clueless, full of dreams and aspirations.

A little shy and sad of eye
But very wise was he

At first Christian didn’t know what he was going to write about. Yes, he had dreams and hopes, but no thoughts as to what he wanted to write.

Then a few weird neighboors droped by and helped him get to know the real bohemian life.

They are rehearsing a play and they needed a writer for the scenario, because their Argentinian writer is suffering from narcolepsy.

The play is called Spectacular!Spectacular! and is set in Switzerland. They want to sell it to Harold Zidler, the owner of the Moulin Rouge.

The hills are alive with the sound of music.

A little of that green stuff to help the writer’s block!

Now, Christian has to perform his poetry/writing for Satine, so that she convinces Zidler to take the play.

Welcome to the Moulin Rouge! This is Harold Zidler, presenting his babies.

Hey sister, go sister, soul sister, flow sister
Hey sister, go sister, soul sister, flow sister

Voulez-vous coucher avec moi ce soir?

Here we are now
Entertain us
Cuz we’re stupid
And contagious!

Outside it must be raining!
But inside it’s entertaining.

Because we can, can, can!

Then, it was time for Satine to make her entrance. And what an entrance it was!

The French are glad to die for love

they delight in fighting duels,

but I prefer a man who lives, and gives expensive jewels!

That night, however, another man also would meet Satine. The Duke!

A kiss on the hand may be quite continental
But diamonds are a girl’s best friend

A kiss may be grand but it won’t pay the rental
On your humble flat or help you feed your pussycat


‘Cause we are living in a material world
And I am a material girl

Satine mistaking Christian for the Duke, asks him to dance with her.

Feel the beat of the rhythm of the night

Dance until the morning light

Forget about the worries on your mind

These rocks don’t lose their shape
Diamonds are a girl’s best friend

Suddenly, as Satine is about to end her act, she can’t take a breath and faints, falling off.

Satine is pampering herself.

Christian is about to meet Satine in person. She thinks he is the Duke though!

Satine is quite «friendly». But Christian has other «things» in mind.

My gift is my song

And this one’s for you

And you can tell everybody
That this is your song.

It may be quite simple but
Now that it’s done.

Hope you don’t mind,I hope you don’t mind
That I put down in words
How wonderful life is now you’re in the world.

Sat on the roof
And I kicked off the moss.
Well some of these verses
Well they, they got me quite cross

But the sun’s been kind
While I wrote this song.

It’s for people like you
That keep it turned on.

So excuse me forgetting,
But these things I do.

You see I’ve forgotten
If they’re green or they’re blue.

Anyway the thing is,
What I really mean,

Yours are the sweetest eyes
I’ve ever seen.

And you can tell everybody
That this is your song.
It may be quite simple,but
Now that it’s done.

I hope you don’t mind,I hope you don’t mind
That I put down in words
How wonderful life is now you’re in the world!

The charms of the song quickly wore off, when the real Duke appeared and everything got more complicated.

Everyone is giving a play for the Duke!

Sad boy, looking out the window at the Moulin Rouge. Thinking of a certain red-head.

I follow the night
Can’t stand the light

When will I begin
To live again?

One day I’ll fly away
Leave all this to yesterday

What more could your love do for me?
When will love be through with me?

Why live life from dream to dream….

And dread the day

When dreaming ends?

One day I’ll fly away
Leave all this to yesterday

Why live life from dream to dream?

And dread the day
when dreaming ends

Christian finds Satine, only to sing for her again! Awww, how sweet and cuddly!

Love is a many splendid thing, love, lifts us up where we
belong, all you need is love.

All you need is love

I was made for loving you baby, you were made for loving me.

The only way of loving me baby, is to pay a lovely fee

Just one night, give me, just one night.

Don’t leave me this way, I can’t survive, without your sweet
love, oh baby, don’t leave me this way. Love lifts us up where we belong, where eagles fly on a mountain high

Love lifts us up where we belong,

where eagles fly on a mountain high

Though nothing, will keep us together.

We could be heroes, for ever and ever.

Just because I will always love you.

Lover’s looks are being exchanged.

Spectacular!Spectacular! is being rehearsed in the Moulin Rouge. But the Duke has put his money on both the show and Moulin Rouge.

Satine and Christian keep their relationship a secret from the Duke from fear that her will destroy everyone if he found out.

And he has no clue of what is going on.

Satine’s illness is getting worse and worse.

Monsieur Zidler tries to calm down the Duke, who feels turned down by Satine. This is such a hilarious performance of Like A Virgin.

Never knew I could feel like this

Like I’ve never seen the sky before

Want to vanish inside your kiss

Every day I love you more and more

Listen to my heart, can you hear it sing?

Telling me to give you everything

Seasons may change, winter to spring

But I love you until the end of time

Come what may
Come what may
I will love you until my dying day

And there’s no mountain too high
No river too wide

Sing out this song and I’ll be there by your side

Come what may
Come what may
I will love you until my dying day

The Duke starts being suspicious. It was about time!

Christian is jealous because Satine is going to sleep with the Duke. Poor boy…

Satine has gone to find the Duke. She’s dressed as if she is going to a funeral. Such a dramatic scene!

This is where the good stuff begins. El Tango de Roxanne.

Roxanne
You don’t have to put on that red light

Walk the streets for money

You don’t care if it’s wrong or if it is right

Roxanne
You don’t have to wear that dress tonight

Roxanne
You don’t have to sell your body to the night

His eyes upon your face

His hand upon your hand

His lips caress your skin

It’s more than I can stand

Why does my heart cry?

Feelings I can’t fight

You’re free to leave me, but just don’t deceive me

And please believe me when I say I love you

Satine is fighting the Duke. She loves Christian!

Luckily, she is saved. But not for long. The Duke is left unconscious.

Satine runs to Christian, crying in his arms. They decide to leave Paris.

But as Satine is ready to leave Paris and the Moulin Rouge, she if informed of her disease and that the Duke will kill Christian if she does not sleep with him.

She has to lie to Christian in order to protect him. Well, isn’t that what always happens in films?

The show must go on.

Christian cannot believe that she will sleep with the Duke.

He is not permitted to enter the Moulin Rouge.

The big day for Spectacular! Spectacular!.

Christian finds Satine and demands for some reasonable explanation.

The Duke has paid someone to kill Christian.

Christian humiliates Satine, calling her a whore!

Never knew i could feel like this.

Listen to my heart can you hear it sing?

Come back to me and forgive everything!

Seasons may change winter to spring

I love you until the end of time.

But their love doesn’t last. Satine’s disease has finally taken over her.

Christian is left all alone. But he has learned one thing: «The greatest thing you’ll ever learn is to love and be loved in return

THE END

Ένα Σχόλιο to “Film Recap: Moulin Rouge”

  1. Angela Donava Μαρτίου 14, 2011 στις 6:56 μμ #

    J’adore ce filnm!!!!!!!

    Angela Donava
    http://www.lookbooks.fr

Σχολιάστε

